History of Euro Cup 2012

The UEFA Euro cup was started in 1960 by the idea of Henry Delaunay of French Football Federation. The first tournament was played in France in 1960 which was won by Soviet Union by beating Yugoslavia by 2-1.

Spain beat Soviet Union by 2-1 in 1964 tournament. In 1968, Italy beat Yugoslavia by 2-0. West Germany beat Soviet Union in the 1972 tournament by 3-0. Czechoslovakia beat West Germany by 5-3 in the 1976 tournament. In the 1980 tournament, West Germany beat Belgium by 2-1. France beat Spain in 1984, Netherlands beat Soviet Union in 1988 and Denmark beat Germany in 1992- all by 2-0. Germany beat Czech Republic in 1996 and France beat Italy in 2000- both by 2-1. Greece beat Portugal in 2004 and Spain beat Germany in 2008- both by 1-0.

Michel Platini of France created the miracle of scoring 9 goals in a single tournament in 1984- a Euro record. He also holds the record of scoring 2 hat-tricks against Belgium and Yugoslavia in the same tournament. Edwin van der Sar of Netherlands and Lilian Thuram of France hold the record of playing most Euro cup matches, i.e. 16.

However, as someone said that records are made to be broken and we experience this reality every four years and hopefully this year would be no exception.